Serving the West Creston Community

Bursary Program‚Äč

The West Creston Community Hall Society created a scholarship fund to financially assist a graduating student(s) of the Community to further their education.

Each year the fund provides $250 towards one or more bursaries given to deserving students of Area C. Since 2010, the bursary amount has been increased by a further $1500 grant provided by RDCK Area C Director.

To qualify for a bursary a student must follow the Application Guidelines outlined below. GOOD LUCK!

To apply, a student must:

  • Be attending courses as a full-time student at an accredited post-secondary educational or technical institution within 16 months of High School graduation or as a mature student,
  • Be a resident of Area C,
  • Demonstrate previous community involvement by outlining their past community activities,
  • Enclose a transcript or other record of their academic work, and
  • Submit an essay of approximately 100 words on “Why community involvement is important”.

Please note that ‘Home Schooled’ students are eligible.

Application Deadline

A Bursary Application Form with instructions is available from Kootenay River Secondary School or by submitting the above required items directly to the West Creston Community Hall prior to March 31. Mail your completed application with a cover letter to West Creston Community Hall Society, 1350 West Creston Road, Creston, BC, V0B1G7 or email the Hall President. (Current President info can be found on the Contact page)

The Selection Process

All applications are reviewed by a Selection Committee and checked to ensure they meet the minimum requirements. The candidate(s) with the best overall application, as determined by the Selection Committee, will be awarded a bursary.


The award will be announced to the successful candidate at the High School Graduation Ceremonies or via telephone. The bursaries will be paid once the Committee has received proof of payment for their first year’s fees.

Contact Info
If you have any questions about eligibility or need any clarification, please contact the Hall President. (The person in the Hall President seat can be found on the membership page.)
Past Recipients
2022Ryan Adams
2021Scott Rast
2020Anna Knudsen
2019Katelyn Weins
2018Ariel Faulks
2017Cammi Ostendorf
2016No Recipient
2015Marielle Ryckman
2014Braedyn Huscroft
2013Charlene Overholt
2012Brielle Huscroft & Brenda Bruns
2011Peter Certik
2010Crystal Barter & Logan Huscroft
2009Logan Huscroft
2008Ashtyn Huscroft
2007Claire Schadeli
2006Molly Kozak
2005Brenna Temple
2004Gillian Ryckman
2003Anneli Schadeli